MINUTES OF THE JOINT CAPITAL OUTLAY SUBCOMMITTEE

Wednesday, June 6, 2012 8:40 a.m. Room 352, State Capitol

The Joint Capital Outlay Subcommittee was called to order by the Chair, Representative Eileen Kowall.

Members present: Representatives Kowall, Goike, Genetski, Potvin, Pscholka, Jackson, and McCann. Senators Booher, Schuitmaker, Jansen, Moolenaar, Green, and Anderson.

Members absent/excused: Senator Hood.

Senator Booher moved to excuse absent members. There being no objection, absent members were excused.

Representative Goike moved to approve the minutes of April 26, 2012.

Representative Genetski seconded the motion.

Without objection the minutes were approved.

The Chair laid HB 5541 before the subcommittee:

HB 5541 Kowall Appropriations; supplemental; capital outlay supplemental for fiscal year 2011-2012; provide for.

Senator Anderson moved to adopt the substitute H-1 (Draft 2) to HB 5541.

Representative Potvin seconded the motion.

The motion prevailed by a vote of 13-0-0.

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL:

Yeas: Representatives Kowall, Goike, Genetski, Potvin, Pscholka, Jackson, and McCann. Senators Booher, Schuitmaker, Jansen, Moolenaar, Green, and Anderson. Nays: None. Pass: None.

Robin Risko, House Fiscal Agency, explained the bill to the subcommittee.

Lisa Frieberger, Grand Rapids Community College, supported the bill.

Dan Phelan, Jackson Community College President, supported the bill.

Erin Schor, Michigan Community College Association, supported the bill.

Carol Churchill, Mid-Michigan Community College, supported the bill.

Senator Anderson moved to approve and refer the substitute H-1 (Draft 2) to HB 5541 to the House Standing Committee on Appropriations.

Representative Booher seconded the motion.

The motion prevailed by a vote of 11-2-0.

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL:

Yeas: Representatives Kowall, Genetski, Potvin, Jackson, and McCann. Senators Booher, Schuitmaker, Jansen, Moolenaar, Green, and Anderson. Nays: Representatives Goike and Pscholka. Pass: None.

There being no further business before the subcommittee and seeing no objection, the Chair adjourned the meeting, the time being 8:52 a.m.

Representative Eileen Kowall, Chairperson

Ben Williams Jr., Committee Clerk, (517) 373-1988 12 Minutes